[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Later ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier⇩ Earliest⇧ Dimension X. Chess on two planes - one with the usual chess pieces, the other with spooky trans-dimensional pieces with strange interactions. (8x8x2, Cells: 128) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-07-28 UTCExcellent ★★★★★This variant is another nifty-looking one by Gary Gifford, albeit with a certain degree of complexity to the play. Gary Gifford wrote on 2012-02-04 UTCA. Black - You ask, 'Are pieces near a spider still allowed to move from the FIDE board to X board?' Not enemy pieces. As stated in the rules, 'Spiders automatically immobilize all adjacent enemy pieces (including an adjacent enemy Crab and an adjacent enemy Cobra)... Enemy pieces in a web remain immobilized until such a time that the capturing Spider either returns to Dimension X or is captured. Spiders have no effect on other Spiders.' (zzo38) A. Black wrote on 2012-02-04 UTCAre pieces near a spider still allowed to move from the FIDE board to X board? Gary Gifford wrote on 2011-01-23 UTCHi Greg. To your very good question. 'Pawns can be 'pinched' back to the first rank. Can they then make a double move? What if they take a single step back to their starting rank - can they make a double move then?' Answer: No. Though not stated in the rules, pawns can only move 2 spaces from the second rank. So, a pawn that was knocked back to the first rank would need to move 1 space to reach the second rank. On its next move or after it could then move 2 spaces. Greg Strong wrote on 2011-01-23 UTCI appologize if I missed this answer ... Pawns can be 'pinched' back to the first rank. Can they then make a double move? What if they take a single step back to their starting rank - can they make a double move then? Gary Gifford wrote on 2009-11-01 UTCTo answer the recent question. 'Can pieces stuck in a web still check?' It really doesn't matter if we see them as checking or not. Because check is irrelevant in Dimension X. One wins by capturing the opposing King and a checking piece in a web cannot capture a King. As indicated in the Rules under '1. ...a King may move into or be exposed to check....' Have no fear of checks from pieces stuck in a web. Also, Cobras in webs cannot spit, crabs in webs cannot pinch, and effectively, Fide pieces in a web are not really checking. Jeremy Good wrote on 2009-11-01 UTCCan pieces caught in a web still check? John Smith wrote on 2008-11-23 UTCGood ★★★★This page needs a rewrite. I also keep seeing these: .--. |FF| |FD| .--. Joe Joyce wrote on 2008-03-10 UTCExcellent ★★★★★Just finished getting thumped by Antoine in this delightful game. Congrats, Gary, you've created an 8x8x2 masterpiece here. Offbeat, intriguing, spare and elegant - all in all, a very nice piece of design work. Ha, you make it tough not to envy you. Keep up the good work. [Somebody told me that recently, and it needs to be passed on. You earned it ;-) ] Thanks for the game. Gary Gifford wrote on 2008-02-13 UTCHello all... Transdimensional creatures can only land on vacant squares. And on corresponding squares. Like D6 to d6 and visa versa. Please bring up any points of DX confusion so I can help clear any issues. We used to have lots of example jpegs, but I had to remove them :( David Paulowich wrote on 2008-02-13 UTCAs it might be relevant to this discussion, I will quote [2006-06-18] Gary Gifford: Jianying: Thanks for the very important question. Yes, normal chess pieces can capture Dimension X pieces [on the FIDE board], providing that the piece making the capture is not 'stuck' by an enemy Spider. I've just made this issue more clear in the rules. Thanks again. Joe Joyce wrote on 2008-02-13 UTCHey, Antoine, I believe the answer is 'no'. Pieces cannot change dimensions and land on top of another piece. I didn't see anything in the rules, but I found it implied in the comments: 2006-06-23 Gary Gifford Verified as Gary Gifford None ...In my current game with Jeremy, though I have the White pieces I did not obtain an opening advantage and I now have an enemy Spider very close to my King. I am busy trying to block landing points so his Trans-Dimensional Creatures don't appear on my Fide-board... 2006-07-26 Gary Gifford Verified as Gary Gifford None In my game with Jeremy, currently in progress, there was a swift and powerful attack by black (Jeremy)... I had to occupy critical squares on the FIDE board to stop his DX creatures from making a devastating appearance. After blocking them I was able... Sneaky of you to ask during my move ;-) Now I gotta wait for the official answer, lol. Antoine Fourrière wrote on 2008-02-13 UTCCan a transdimensional piece move transdimensionally, say D6 to d6 or vice-versa, to an occupied square? Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-07-26 UTCIn my game with Jeremy, currently in progress, there was a swift and powerful attack by black (Jeremy)... I had to occupy critical squares on the FIDE board to stop his DX creatures from making a devastating appearance. After blocking them I was able to bring my Spitting Cobra from DX onto the FIDE board where it now appears to be quite menacing. It is a very instructive game thus far. Also, I see that there is currently a DX invite open... I am trying to resist accepting it (as I have too many games in progress). So I hope that someone else will soon take up the gauntlet. Nasmichael Farris wrote on 2006-07-26 UTCGood ★★★★Intriguing. It seems to be a very original game, with opportunities for novice and more masterful chess players. I look forward to seeing some finished games. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-07-05 UTCFergus - The jpegs of movement-tables and other text-only graphics have been replaced by HTML text. The DX Problem Diagram Jpegs have also been removed and the page now loads very fast. I just noticed a link to Problem # 7 under CV 'What's New.' The pre-set allows you to move the pieces so it is sort of a like a chess problem in a book, only you can move the diagram pieces around. I do not know if this is the problem I created in the Game Courier, or if someone else re-did it. If it is the second case, I'd like to thank whoever re-worked it. If it is the first case I need to know so I can use the same method to make future problems. I can e-mail the set of the first 6 problems to those who should want them. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-07-04 UTCFergus: I should be able to get to that HTML task later today. I will also remove the problem graphics and stick them in a blog. Best Regards. Fergus Duniho wrote on 2006-07-04 UTCI'm still seeing the same viewable game you had before, not a preset. BTW, would you please provide the full rules in HTML and get rid of the graphics that explain the rules? I don't have broadband, and they are taking much too long to download. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-07-04 UTCFergus - I have re-submiited Problem 7, I think as a pre-set. Thanks again for the advice and tips. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-07-04 UTCThanks for (a) removing the comment, and (b) recommending the problem submission for #7. Now I need to see what FEN code editing is. :( On another note, regarding problem # 6: Fergus Duniho, Thomas J. McElmurry, and Jianying Ji correctly solved it, making them the only ones who have sentt correct solutions to all 6 problems. The solution to problem 6 will appear Friday, so there is still time to make the solvers list. Fergus Duniho wrote on 2006-07-04 UTCGary, Technically, you have not provided your latest problem as a preset. You have provided it as a viewable game. As a consequence, users cannot enter Move mode to move pieces around. To provide it as a preset, you need to make it in Edit mode by editing the FEN code directly, not by entering a bunch of moves. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-07-04 UTCGary, I would recomment you create user submitted problem pages. Just submit them as game pages, and I'll convert them to problem pages. As you can clearly see, the commenting system is easy to confuse! I have deleted the entry you specified. How do I remove my last comment? The one with the button for problem 7. It takes up too much space on the comments page and the 'Edit' button is not available to me for it .... so I can't seem to get rid of it. Also, I noticed that while the button works from the rules, it does not work from the Comments... any way. If an editor can remove that comment I'd be much obliged. Thank you in advance. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-06-24 UTCProblem # 6 has been added to the rules. I created it in the pre-set fairy problem creation mode... but I must have done something wrong because I could not seem to save the problem... could not link back to it. So I saved an image of it as a jpg for now and put it in the rules. I'll have to figure out how to save the problems using the CV method. Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-06-24 UTCJianying Ji - thanks for indicating a desire to see more problems. Fergus - thanks for you suggestion.. That is a very good idea. And in that way we get: (a) a better diagram graphic (b) don't have to worry about missing an e-mail; (c) players can move pieces around... and (d) save memory space. Comments (at the pre-set) would be a good place to list the solvers and perhaps the solution (after a week or 2 of solving time alloted. I'll try to find time to add one later today. Best regards to all. Fergus Duniho wrote on 2006-06-24 UTCAt present, we have over 800 megabytes to spare. But if you want to decrease the bandwidth of loading this page, you could rely on Game Courier to display the problems and just provide links on this page. Game Courier was not designed for just games. It was also designed for displaying fairy chess problems. Using Game Courier would also make it easier for people to try out different solutions. 25 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier⇩ Earliest⇧Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.