The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Wizard Chess. Variant on 12 by 7 board with fantasy pieces. (7x12, Cells: 84) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Daniil Frolov wrote on 2010-07-16 UTC
And preset for advanced variant:
/play/pbm/play.php?game%3DAdvanced+Wizard+Chess%26settings%3DAdvanced+Wizard+Chess

Daniil Frolov wrote on 2010-06-27 UTC
Played this once on physic board (drawn it special for this game). It waas slow, but interesting.
Now i made GC preset for this:
/play/pbm/play.php?game=WizardChess&settings=WizardChess

Paul E. Newton wrote on 2010-03-17 UTC
Thank you for your kind comment. My son Andrew and I are thrilled that someone else enjoys Wizard Chess, too! We wrote the rule that there would be no stalemate because in all of our play-testing of the game we never came across a situation where there was no clear winner. With the re-spawning of the pawns captured on their own side and the promotion of pawns we found that the likelihood of a stalemate was extremely low. We agree that the situation you describe is for all practical purposes a stalemate, but we would say you should award the win to the player with the Chariot as he has the stronger board position. Have you tried Advanced Wizard Chess? Andrew and I like the Advanced version of the game with the Sky board and the extra pieces better than the original game. If you try it, please let us know if you enjoy it!

Anonymous wrote on 2010-03-10 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
It's one of my favourite ches variants of this site (of course, expect historical games)! By the way, why there is no stalemate? For example, if one of players have only wizard, his wizard is in corner, and opponent have chariot diagonally ajecent to wizard and it's protected by another piece - isn't it stalemate?

Paul E. Newton wrote on 2002-10-18 UTC
As to the question of a Warrior that has never been moved and is 'Teleported' by the Wizard, can he make his initial three-step move? The answer is Yes, so long as he had never moved before. Sorry I did not catch that part of your question the first time I read it!

Paul Newton wrote on 2002-10-12 UTC
When the Warrior is placed on the X square, he is starting all over again and regains the initial three part move.

Anonymous wrote on 2002-10-11 UTC
Can an unmoved Warrior, after teleporting to a new square via the Wizard-King, still make a triple step? Does a moved Warrior reentering the board on an X square regain the triple step?

Paul Newton wrote on 2002-10-11 UTC
There are no jumping pieces other than the Dragon, so the Giant cannot move through an occupied space.

Robert Shimmin wrote on 2002-10-08 UTC
If the first square along a diagonal is occupied, can the giant still proceed to the second?

Paul E. Newton wrote on 2002-09-25 UTC
I wanted to add a clarification to Rule 4 (Warrior Capture): When a Warrior is captured in his own territory and there is no open square marked with an X for it to be put on, it is set aside until a square marked with an X becomes open, and as soon as the first marked square becomes open it is placed there immediately (this does NOT count as a move in itself) because a Warrior cannot be removed from play unless it is captured in enemy territory.

10 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.