The Chess Variant Pages

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Three Universes Chess. There is 3 boards and pieces can move through the kings to different universes. (8x8x3, Cells: 192) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Abdul-Rahman Sibahi wrote on 2007-03-09 UTC
It's pretty much the same idea. Besides, I would've never thought of it without you posting your variant here.

(zzo38) A. Black wrote on 2007-03-08 UTC
To Abdul-Rahman-Sibahi:

You invented a good new variant, and I like that one too; you should post it as a new page. But it is not the same as Three Universes Chess!

Abdul-Rahman Sibahi wrote on 2007-03-05 UTC
I like the idea of this variant. Though I don't like the restriction of
pieces able to move between boards. (I also don't like the notation
system, but this is another story.) 

I would phrase it this way, all pieces (except pawns,) can move to an
adjacent universe in a clock-wise direction (pieces on A go to B, B to C,
C to D and so on until the last universe returns to A,) through the

Rooks, Bishops and Queens move in the described way. Knights can move one
step orthogonally into the king's square (on A), continue by moving
another step orthogonally in the same direction (on B), then one step
diagonally. (They move to squares a knight's move away from the King on
B.) If the King IS a knight's move away on Board A, the knight ends up a
ferz's move away on B (by continuing the diagonal leg of the movement

This the diagram, * shows the movement of the A knight, # is for the B
knight. The C knight can go to other boards.

........   ........   ........
........   ........   ........
...K....   ....*...   ........
..*.....   ..NK....   ..N..#..
..N.....   ........   ...K#...
........   ........   .....#..
........   ........   ........
........   ........   ........
A          B          C

If a king is checkmated or stalemated in a universe, the universe is
considered dead and no piece transfers can happen to and from it. (For
example, if King B was checkmated, A pieces go to C.) The player who wins
in more boards is considered the winner of the game.

And yes, forgot to mention that, you have to make a move in every board in
your turn. A piece transfer is considered to be a move on two boards.

For example, you can start with 1. e4,e4,e4 e5,c5,Nf6 .

When transferring, it goes like 1. R-,-e3,Qf6 -a8,Nb7,B-

in White's move a rook on A went to board B.

I feel that I have said too much, or rather invented a new variant. Sorry.

(zzo38) A. Black wrote on 2007-03-05 UTC
Pawns and knights and queens and kings cannot move through the kings (a king couldn't move through a king anyways, because you only have one king on one board anyways!). The boards are entirely different universes and are not adjacent to each other, so you can't move from one board to another except by moving through the kings. (Maybe if you wanted to, you could add another variant rule, and you could attach the boards horizontally and let only knights move across boards in this way.)

Joe Joyce wrote on 2007-03-03 UTC
The rules are a little sparse. While no rule specifies, I assume a king
can't move itself off a board, although that could be interesting. Maybe
if they were on the same square on adjacent boards, or adjacent squares on
the same board, a king could move another king to a different level. [Let
the players move a piece per king, only the board the king is on.]  
Understanding how the unlimited sliders move 'through the kings' is
easy, with your diagram [once you figure everything out], but what about
pawns and knights? Does the pawn have to be able to move 2 squares to go
through to another board? If it doesn't get 'stuck inside' the
receiving king when it can move only 1 square, and it can move through
both and come out in front of the 2nd king, then it can capture by moving
diagonally through, and what about the knight? If a pawn can move through
a king by landing on it, why can't a knight? So, where does it come out,
in that case? If it must be next to the king, does it have to start only
orthogonally adjacent and end diagonally adjacent to the 2nd king, or can
it also start diagonally adjacent to the 1st king and end up orthogonally
adjacent to the second king?
Interesting big variant, needs some work to be more than an idea.

5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.