[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Later ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier⇩ Earliest⇧ How to Design and Post Your Own Game. A reference for those who want to post their own games here.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-11-08 UTCvery well you guys are the proffesionals and if it makes the game easier then yes in the first two ranks can make the pawns move forward two Greg Strong wrote on 2020-11-08 UTC I dont quiet understand the second question though what do you mean by first rank? Sorry for my lack of knowladge. Rank means row. Squares a1, b1, c1, ... f1 are the first rank. A pawn moves backwards on its first move - pawn on e2 moves to e1. It is now on the first rank. Can it move two spaces? Personally, I would make the rule like this: "any pawn on the first or second rank can move two spaces." Otherwise, players must remember which pawns have moved and which have not. H. G. Muller wrote on 2020-11-08 UTCWell, it is not "just like in original Chess", as in original Chess you can never go back. So there is ambiguity whether to interpret the FIDE rule for Pawn moves as a location-dependent move or as a one-time initial move. In many Chess variants where you can go back (e.g. Crazyhouse, where captured Pawns can be dropped back on 2nd rank) a Pawn that returns there will again be able to move two squares forward. The advantage of that is that you do not need any 'hidden game state', to remember which Pawns have already moved and which not; just looking at the position will tell you everything you have to know. (About the Pawns. Castling rights are of course an example of hidden game state that even occurs in orthodox Chess.) Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-11-08 UTCoh i see im a moron no if you go back to your original post where your pawn started you cannot move two tiles forward only if its the pawn first move in the match just like in original chess I dont quiet understand the second question though what do you mean by first rank? Sorry for my lack of knowladge. H. G. Muller wrote on 2020-11-08 UTCThe question is this: if you start moving a Pawn 1 square forward, and on a later move let it step 1 square backward, so that it is again on the square where it started... Can it move forward 2 squares then? Or only 1? And what if it moves to the first rank? How many steps forward can it then make? Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-11-08 UTCwell you can never make two spaces backwards only one as i said, even if there is two space you can only do one Greg Strong wrote on 2020-11-07 UTC You miss the part where you can make the aggrements if both sides feel if they can make the other side do something that would make them more advateges then before you can betray the other one also this action tooks one turn and the other need to execute the action in their turn and then you do the same what he wants to also you can betray him this up to you if you feel that you can trust him next time. This could be placed in the notes, but this is not really a rule. All you are really saying is that players can talk. They could do this in Chess too. But they do not have to do what they say they will do. nyway yes this how i would have been able to do it more sorted out about the question, you cannot make a space backwards 2 tiles only one though im not so sure if its such a bug diffrents on the field though if you feel like that playing the game it can make a diffrance then im sure we can change it though i never played my self with that rule included My question was not about moving two spaces backwards. My question is when can you move two spaces forwards? In chess, any pawn on the second rank can move two spaces. But in this game, since they can go backwards, they can leave the second rank and still come back. Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-11-07 UTCYou miss the part where you can make the aggrements if both sides feel if they can make the other side do something that would make them more advateges then before you can betray the other one also this action tooks one turn and the other need to execute the action in their turn and then you do the same what he wants to also you can betray him this up to you if you feel that you can trust him next time. Anyway yes this how i would have been able to do it more sorted out about the question, you cannot make a space backwards 2 tiles only one though im not so sure if its such a bug diffrents on the field though if you feel like that playing the game it can make a diffrance then im sure we can change it though i never played my self with that rule included Greg Strong wrote on 2020-11-07 UTCIt is being reviewed. Thank you for your patience. I will need to make significant changes to the text for clarity. First, let me make sure I understand the rules exactly. I think the game is the same as orthodox chess except for the following: There is no check, checkmate, or stalemate. If you capture the opponent’s king, you win immediately If you move your king to the last rank, you win immediately Pieces cannot capture, except: (a) a King can capture anything, and (b) anything can capture a King. Pawns can also move a single space backwards, but cannot capture anything backwards. Does this look right? Also, another question about the pawn. When can a pawn make a 2-space move? Any time it is on the second rank? (For example, it moves a space backward to the first rank, then a space forward to the second rank. Can it then make a 2-space move?) Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-11-07 UTCso how should i know if its getting rewied? Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-10-31 UTCalso thank you for the fast checking i was not expecting such hospitality Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-10-31 UTCstraight back my friend they cant kill if they go back and only if there is space Greg Strong wrote on 2020-10-31 UTC The pawns are also can move backwards How do they move backwards? One space backwards? Can they capture a king when moving backwards? Straight back or diagonally? Greg Strong wrote on 2020-10-31 UTCSorry, I had trouble finding your submission. It is not showing on the editor page for some reason, but I was able to find it in the SQL database. I will take a look. Fergus, any idea why this page does not show on the unreviewed submissions page? https://www.chessvariants.com/rules/cold-war-chess Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-10-31 UTCi have an unpublished subbmission and im asking if this is where i need to alert the staff or if that date is the one when it will be rewied Greg Strong wrote on 2020-10-30 UTCPosting here is fine, but I do not see any submissions from you Kutasi Márton wrote on 2020-10-30 UTCwhere am i supposed the alert that my chess varaint is ready in here, or where, cuz it said that im supposed to alert you guys Fergus Duniho wrote on 2020-05-19 UTCOkay, I did that. H. G. Muller wrote on 2020-05-19 UTCOK, too bad. But you are right, the large Shogi variants are a bit extreme in every way, and we probably won't encounter many other cases. It would indeed help me a lot if you could unpack the archive in MSmakadaidaishogi, even with 20 at the time it would be a lot of work to get them all there. The archive is at http://hgm.nubati.net/2kanji.tar.gz . Thanks! Fergus Duniho wrote on 2020-05-19 UTCH.G., Since you're probably the only one who needs to upload huge numbers of graphics, it may be easier for me to manually unpack an archive for you after you upload it. Just let me know where it is and what it's called. Fergus Duniho wrote on 2020-05-19 UTCPHP has max_file_uploads set to 20, and even though I've tried changing this in php.ini, it hasn't made a difference. I made sure it was the correct php.ini file. I stopped and restarted apache. And I even set a value for suhosin.upload.max_uploads, which I found a recommendation to do. But when I run phpinfo(), it still reports that max_file_uploads is 20, and that's all it lets me upload at one time. H. G. Muller wrote on 2020-05-19 UTCUmmm... It did not work as well as I thought. Now that I pointed the Interactive Diagram for Maka Dai Dai Shogi to its own graphics directory, rather than to my own website, only 20 piece types show up. Turns out the MSmakadaidaishogi directory indeed only contains 20 PNG files. The remaining tile images (of 312) were not uploaded. Perhaps I am using it wrong? What I did was click 'Browse' in the upload manager, sype Ctrl-A in the file-browse dialog's main window to select all files, press "Open" in that dialog (so it closes), and finally press "Upload" in the upload manager. (Using FireFox on a Windows PC.) Fergus Duniho wrote on 2020-05-19 UTCThe code for allowing the use of alternate pre-existing directory names was removing hyphens from the names of new directories. I corrected it to not do that any longer. Fergus Duniho wrote on 2020-05-18 UTCItemIDs used to be limited to 16 characters. After changing that, I created a table with old ItemIDs and the new ones they correspond to. According to that table, MSmakadaidaishog is the old ItemID for MSmaka-dai-dai-shogi, but for some reason, it is using MSmakadaidaishogi for the directory name. H. G. Muller wrote on 2020-05-18 UTCThis worked like a charm, thanks! Indeed no need for archives. I uploaded the entire set of 2-kanji tiles for the large Shogi variants to the Maka Dai Dai Shogi graphics directory in a flash. I did detect an irregularity, though: the directory to which I now uploaded (/membergraphics/MSmakadaidaishogi) was initially empty. Which surprised me, because I did have two images in the article. On closer inspection, it turned out that these images are in /membergraphics/MSmakadaidaishog , i.e. without the final 'i'. Apparently the old upload script had clipped the filename. So these old image files are now outside my grasp to manage. (Not that there is any need for that now, but I still wanted to report it.) 25 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier⇩ Earliest⇧Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.