[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Later ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier Slide-Chess. Variant on 44 squares with moving cages. (7x8, Cells: 44) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]João Neto wrote on 2004-06-09 UTCyes, that's right. Inside the cages they are in a non-zone regarding promotions, as the typical place inside most companies :-) carlos carlos wrote on 2004-06-09 UTCok, so it can't be promoted until it is back in the main 7x6 board then? João Neto wrote on 2004-06-09 UTCthe pawn can be inside a cage, eg: 8 [O] ( ) 7 . n b k b n r 6 . p p p p p p 5 . . . . . . . 4 . . . . . . . 3 . O O O O O O 2 R N B K B N R 1 a b c d e f g h i now, if that cage is inserted into the board, the pawn will be at the last row and will be promoted. Since the cage may belong to the adversary, it is the mover that decides the promotion, not the owner carlos carlos wrote on 2004-06-09 UTC'When a pawn reaches the 2nd/7th rank, the mover decides how it promotes (the pawn may promote to a Queen).' Is there a restriction on how a pawn may reach the 2nd/7th row? Can it be transported directly there in a cage? carlos carlos wrote on 2004-06-04 UTCthanks. i guess i just thought that that rule was too obvious to even be there, but i suppose you have to put everything down just to be clear. this makes the game more complex then. João Neto wrote on 2004-06-04 UTCHi, indeed Roberto got it right in his ZRF. The idea is that the remaining sliding square should not be at the opposite edge (so, it will not go out of bounds). Both sliding squares must be diagonally or orthogonally adjacent to the main 6x7 board. The last pushed square on the 6x7 board can have pieces, except a King. Sorry about the wording, natural language can be though :-) Joao Neto carlos carlos wrote on 2004-06-04 UTCanyone care to comment on rule 2.3. roberto has just implemented it in our game. 'insert his cage (with any contents) orthogonally into the board, shifting the other cells in line until a cage appears at the opposite edge (which must have been empty).' when i first read the rules i thought that the opposite edge which should be empty meant the square that was to be pushed out. roberto obviously took it to mean simply that the other cage couldn't be at the end of that row or column (see our current game). on second reading, i am inclined to agree with him, although the wording is pretty ambiguous... the example doesn't clear things up either. anyone know/have an opinion? another thing is the 'shifting the other cells in line' part... taken literally this seems to mean that the whole cells (not just their contents) get pushed along. this would make things interesting for bishops! what was the intention here? 7 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ EarlierPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.