[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]
Comments/Ratings for a Single Item
As it is a compound of two pieces that still have strong links to the regiments originally inspiring them (cavalry and infantry), could the name as applied to the piece be a corruption of 'Dragoon'? The two words are linked, as the original Dragoons were named for the Dragon emblem on their banners.
(Random page link brought me here.) The combination of N+P can also be achieved in Absorption Chess, in which case the rule is, I think, that reaching the 8th rank by using the P component of the compound move allows promotion of the P component of the compound piece. Can a Dragon on the first rank make a 2 step P move, or even advance all the way to the 4th rank?
3 comments displayed
Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.