The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a piececlopedia entry
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2002-08-21
 Author: Ben  Good. Inventor: David L. Brown. Orphan. Moves like a piece that attacks it.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
(zzo38) A. Black wrote on 2014-07-16 UTC
How will you be in check if you promote into bishop? I thought it only applies if you are promoted into a queen.

Samson Marriner wrote on 2014-07-14 UTC
In the shown Helpmate problem something unusual occurs (impossible in FIDE): White Pawn may promote to a Rook or a Knight, but not to a Queen or Bishop: doing so would be placing yourself in check. (if White to play)

George Duke wrote on 2009-08-22 UTC
Gilman is answering Hugo's point of 5 1/2 years ago. These time scales are not improbable in Chess. Gridlock is said to have originated 25,000 years ago. Tai Shogi games with its over 100 piece-types took place by courier among Buddhist monks sometimes up to 50 years for one single score. Tradition.

Charles Gilman wrote on 2009-08-22 UTC
Hugo is wrong. It is true that any piece moving to threaten an Orphan is automatically threatened by it, but what if the piece is also protected by an ally? Then if the Orphan captures it the Orphan itself can be captured as it has no time to capture the next piece. For example, there is a Black Orphan on a4 and a White Rook moves to d4, where a Bishop on b2 protects it. If the Orphan captures the Rook, the Bishop can capture the Orphan. Is this a record for the time taken to reply to a comment? My excuse is that I have only recently become interested in pieces which imitate.

Hugo wrote on 2004-03-16 UTC
You cannot take an orphan except when checkmating him.I suggest to make the King an Orphan.

Peter Aronson wrote on 2002-10-17 UTC
Diagram fixed!

Ben Good wrote on 2002-10-16 UTC
actually, the problem is that there should be an orphan on f4. the original diagram had it, but i redid this page this summer, and i obviously left it off by accident. i'll send a new diagram to aronson sometime today.

Martin wrote on 2002-10-15 UTCGood ★★★★
Very interesting piece, but unfortunately, the second example diagram and the accompanying text is flawed. The black King *is* able to move to g4, because there is no Orphan on f4. Rather, the text should say: 'note that [the black King] can not move to *g6*, because it would then attack the Orphan on *f7*, which would check the black King.' Additionally, the white pawn should be moved one step forward, to f3, to prevent the King from moving to g4. If that hadn't been flawed, I'd rate the page 'Excellent'. :)

8 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.