The Chess Variant Pages

Check out Cylindrical Chess, our featured variant for March, 2023.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Hitchhiker Chess. Get your Hitchhiker to the Restaurant at the other End of the Board; inspired by Douglas Adams' books. (Cells: 42) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
John Smith wrote on 2009-01-21 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
An unusual mix of pieces and an unusual goal; never heard of a win by kidnapping! Hopefully George will enlighten me on some previous instance.

George Duke wrote on 2009-01-21 UTC
The discussion came two years after the post in 2002. Bruce Mills' 40-square Diamond Chess came earlier in 1999. Ralph Betza first (formally) rotated 64-square board 45 degrees somewhat similar to 100-year-old Legan.

George Duke wrote on 2009-01-21 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Gridlock has pieces hitching a ride in 2003, as Mounting the Forrest Rook.

💡📝Dan Troyka wrote on 2005-02-21 UTC
A mine explosion has no effect on the Hitchhiker. The Hitchhiker can be destroyed only by dropping it in the Black Hole, which ends the game.

Anonymous wrote on 2005-02-20 UTC
How do an exploding mine and a Hitchhiker interact?

💡📝Dan Troyka wrote on 2004-10-05 UTC
Uh, if the Sun has just moved, it is not destroyed by detonation of a live mine. Should have said so in my last post.

Moussambani wrote on 2004-10-05 UTC
even if the Sun just moved?

💡📝Dan Troyka wrote on 2004-10-05 UTC
Good questions, and the answers are ... the Sun itself explodes when it scorches a live mine, and a live mine destroys an adjacent sun when it detonates.

Anonymous wrote on 2004-10-03 UTC
How do Suns and live mines interact?<br> Specifically: <ul><li>What happens if a Sun scorches a live mine?</li> <li>What happens if a mine is detonated next to a Sun?</li></ul>

💡📝Dan Troyka wrote on 2004-08-04 UTC
No. Capturing is a stationary action for the Sun, i.e., if it moves from one space to another it cannot capture. Looks like I could have expressed this more clearly.

Moussambani wrote on 2004-08-04 UTC
I have another question... Can the sun move and scorch in the same turn?

💡📝Dan Troyka wrote on 2004-04-29 UTC
FIDE rules govern by default, which means that mines are captured by normal replacement in space (i.e., the capturing piece is not destroyed). The diagram is wrong with regard to the Orbiter. It can move to d4 or f4. The Zillions version of the game is rule-abiding, or so I hope, and it might help to clear up issues that perhaps aren't clearly expressed in the written rules.

Moussambani wrote on 2004-04-28 UTC
Why can't Orbiter in diagram move to d4 or f4?

Doug Chatham wrote on 2004-04-28 UTC
Well, if I could give a definite answer to your question, I would. <p> The last sentence of the Mine description says, 'Detonation of a <i>live</i> Mine can be prevented by capture but the capturing piece itself is exploded.'(Emphasis added.) This suggests to me that when you capture a Mine in space, it isn't 'live' and the capturing piece does not explode. But that's just a guess.

Anonymous wrote on 2004-04-26 UTCPoor ★
I asked a question over a month ago, and it STILL hasn't been answered!!

Anonymous wrote on 2004-03-22 UTC
If a Mine on space is captured, does the capturing piece explode?

16 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.