The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a miscellaneous item
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2003-09-01
Awards given to the Chess Variant Pages. Awards given to the Chess Variant Pages.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Fergus Duniho wrote on 2004-07-16 UTC
James Spratt complained about the Majon award on another page. Until just now, you couldn't add comments to this page, because it wasn't in the database. So I just added it to the database before adding my comment here. Majon offers two awards. One of these awards can be given by anyone to anyone. In fact, I could award it to my own site. It's basically a pseudo-award anyone can pin on his site when it hasn't actually been recognized by others. This so-called award is identified in some of the graphics for it as the 'Web Select Award'. That's what the Majon award on this page is called. The other award is called 'Majon's Most Prestigious Award'. We apparently don't have that one. It is the one they give out with some degree of discrimination. I did not see a single link to any site that had won either award. I suppose no one is stupid enough to pay mega-bucks for a link on this marketing website.