[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Single Comment Dead Ringers Chess. Double chess game with twin pieces that are captured simultaneously. (8x8x2, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Kevin Pacey wrote on 2017-12-14 UTCI'm not clear on what happens in this variant if a pawn is on the 7th rank on a given board, and there are as yet no captured (non-pawn) enemy pieces from that given board. Assuming such a pawn on the 7th rank cannot yet legally promote to anything (nor be allowed to the 8th rank), does anyone know if the pawn in question could still be able to give check to an enemy king on the 8th rank? Perhaps it can give such a check, as similarly happens in a number of Fergus' invented variants. P.S.: In case it's not clear, in the game's 2-board diagram, the non-pawn pieces that are not coloured (specially at their base) are still considered to be paired, with the same not coloured pieces on the opposite board. For example, the White rook on a1 is paired with the White rook on a1 on the other board in the setup (similar story for the White queens, and for each of the White light-and dark-squared bishops on each board). Looks like a cool game, aside from my rules interpretation question above.