[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Single Comment Bishops Conversion Rule. Rule for variant where bishops start on equal colored squares, with sample games.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Jose Carrillo wrote on 2008-02-22 UTCMaura's Modern Chess already has a solution for the 'Bishop Conversion' to the light squares. Modern Chess has the 'Bishop Castling' rule, where one, and only one, of the Bishops is allowed to swap places with the Knight, Queen or Minister adjacent to it. Neither of the pieces involved in the 'Bishop Castling' must have moved before, and the move is optional. Unlike Carlos Cetina's Bishop Conversion Rule, which mandates one of the Bishops to convert to the light squares; Maura's Bishop Castling is just an option. If a player is confortable playing with 2 Bishops on the dark squares, he may choose to do so. But he may end up playing against a formation that has Bishops on both light and dark squares.