The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search





Promote King Chess

Rules

Game is played as FIDE except as follows:

  1. If the king reaches the final rank, it is promoted into Cthulhu.
  2. When a pawn is promoted, you may promote it into a pawn, knight, rook, queen, or bishop, of either color; therefore it is allowed to even remain where it is and not promote at all.
  3. Pawn double steps are are possible on the second rank, regardless of where it started from.
  4. If a pawn promotes to a rook on the king's file and then hasn't moved since it promoted, if the king also hasn't moved, castling is possible with that rook (the king moves to K3 and the new rook to K2). The notation for this is "0-0-0-0-0-0".
  5. Castling is even possible if a pawn promotes to an opposite color of rook on the opponent's rook's files, if the king hasn't moved yet, like above. However, it is not possible if it promotes on a different file.
  6. A non-promoted king can double-step forward non-capturing from its second rank, and can be captured with en passant and capture pawns en passant.
  7. If a pawn moves one space directly forward (non-capturing, and not double step) and its own (non-promoted) king is directly behind, you may move the king to the space vacated by the pawn if you wish; the notation for this is as the king's move (for example, "Ke2" if the e-pawn moves to e3 and the king follows).
  8. Cthulhu can move as a queen or as a knight, or non-capturing two spaces any direction leaping. It cannot pass through check except for leaping moves or if it would give check if it stopped on the square it is passing (it isn't allowed to actually stop there though if it would be in check after doing so).
  9. If the game ends in a draw due to anything other than draw by agreement, and at least one king has been promoted, whoever promoted their king first wins.
  10. If either player has promoted into opponent's pieces, the winner earns an additional point (base 1 point for the game) every time a promotion into an opponent's piece occurred, regardless of who did it or what winning condition is used.



This 'user submitted' page is a collaboration between the posting user and the Chess Variant Pages. Registered contributors to the Chess Variant Pages have the ability to post their own works, subject to review and editing by the Chess Variant Pages Editorial Staff.


By (zzo38) A. Black.
Web page created: 2014-11-02. Web page last updated: 2014-11-02