Kibbitz Listing Game: Limbo Chess Log: judgmentality-dtroyka-2006-187-706 Dan Troyka wrote on 2006-07-07Well, no, you can't actually capture an opponent King, only checkmate. But the idea is that check only occurs when in fact the King could be captured on the next turn. Since an enemy King on top of a friendly King could not be captured, the enemy King in that position cannot be in check.Dan Troyka wrote on 2006-07-07The rule about the King on King is based on prevention of suicide. If your opponent's King in Heaven is directly on top of your King in Hell, a capture of the opponent King would simultaneously capture your own King, which is verboten. So it's treated as not being a check, although if the friendly King in Hell moves to a different square a check is uncovered.Game: Ibu Ibu Alice Alice Chess Log: judgmentality-dtroyka-2006-187-708 Dan Troyka wrote on 2006-07-07Oops, meant to let you go first. How does the third board fit in? I did not see a game description for Ibu Ibu Alice Alice chess. I think I can figure out the two board Alice variant but for the three board I better get some direction first. Do the pieces rotate from board one to two, then two to three, then three to one, and if so must all three corresponding squares on the boards be vacant, or just the two (moving & destination) at issue?Game: Limbo Chess Log: judgmentality-dtroyka-2006-187-706 Dan Troyka wrote on 2006-07-07Okay, here we go. I need a better understanding of the game mechanics, understanding that this is a work in progress. Is the middle board limbo? If a piece is captured on the middle board, I understand that it goes into reserve. How is that represented graphically? When it's re-inserted, does it go to the far right board (i.e., is that heaven)? And what happens when a piece is captured there, or on the first board (which I'm guessing is hell)? Sorry for all the questions, but I do like the basic limbo idea and am trying to get a better sense of how captures operate.