[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Rated Comments for a Single ItemLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier Flipworld. Pieces are on both sides of a disc. (6x7x2, Cells: 84) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Anthony Viens wrote on 2018-08-22 UTCGood ★★★★INTERESTING. Wow. I like. Bishop moves are darn tricky. They have an abundance of paths to take, I'm guessing they are valued approxamently the same as a rook. Also, don't rooks tend to be more dangerous on a circuar board? Consequently, the queen might be overly powerful. I honestly think that there could be more peices to play with the different angles. I think this has a germ of brilliance, but incomplete. This definitly has some unrealized potential. George Duke wrote on 2005-03-15 UTCGood ★★★★'DEF,LargeCV': A novel circular chess, Flipworld may not have erased all ambiguity about transit through its six Nexus cells(triangles), but there will not be the ridiculous bottleneck of Conveyor Chess or In the Bin. RNBKQP get two additions, weak Tocop and strong Starman, which could be explained better. The inner circuits will have most of the action. Really the Nexus, or tunnel, or lift, is not common to both Topside and Flipside, because player specifies which it is on if a piece stops there. Tesselations mixed square- and triangle-boards, like Round Table Chess, stretched topologically to over-all roundness, can play better than hexagonal ones once rules clarify. Games would be brief here for reason of traps, trades, errors. Anonymous wrote on 2002-12-13 UTCGood ★★★★If transitioning from square 7 top to square 7 flip is indeed a non-move, some ambiguities concerning capture remain. Imagine that a Topside Pawn moves to square 7 topside. Then a Flipside Knight moves to square 7 flipside. Since it is essentially the same square, is it compulsory that Knight takes Pawn, or can they co-exist? How long can they co-exist? If capturing is not compulsory, can Pawn take Knight instead in the same 'inter-turn / between-turn'? Could Topside move a different piece, and Pawn would/could still take Knight in a non-move? If capturing is compulsory, which I would suggest for logic's and clarity's sake, does the board have 84 or 78 unique cells? JohnRyan wrote on 2002-12-11 UTCExcellent ★★★★★Dan Troyka-I can answer your questions, but right now I am busy, so I will have to post the answers tomorrow. I'm sorry that the rules are so confusing. I'll try to make them clearer later. 4 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ EarlierPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.