The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Rated Comments for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2004-03-25
 By Fergus  Duniho. Clockwork Orange Chess. Captured pieces are replaced with non-capturing counterparts. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-03-01 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

A cool idea for a variant. It takes some time to discover various strategies that can be employed by the players with the stated rules.

[edit: My tentative estimates for the piece values are as follows: Capturing pieces: P=2; B=3; N=3.5; R=4 and Q=6 (same values as I gave for in Crazyhouse); Non-capturing pieces: P=1.25; B=1.5; N=1.75; R=2 and Q=3 (computed using x0.5 penalty for non-capturing movements - note a pawn is thus slightly less affected in its value decrease).]


Gary Gifford wrote on 2004-04-03 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
I just want to say that I am quite impressed with Clockwork Orange Chess. It is easy to play and the Shogi-like drop of active and neutral pieces adds a great deal to the tactical and strategic arena. I appreciate the allegorical aspect of the game. Its relation to the Clockwork Orange story is both intriguing and carries a subtle humorous tone. I saw the movie... but now feel inclined to read the book. If a remake of Clockwork Orange is made, I think that to have a few characters in the movie playing Clockwork Orange Chess would be a very nice touch. Thank you Fergus Duniho, for bringing us this enjoyable and clever variant.

Michael Schmahl wrote on 2004-04-02 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Promoted pawns retain their promoted status after being captured, I assume?

Larry Smith wrote on 2004-03-25 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Well, according to the ZRF non-capturing Pawns promote to other
non-capturing pieces.  This appears very logical.

A very interesting game.  Sort of Alice Chess meets Shogi with boxing
gloves in a knife fight. ;-)

Charles Gilman wrote on 2004-03-25 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
What can non-capturing Pawns be promoted to?

5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.