The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a Java program
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2001-01-01
 Author: Ed  Friedlander. Manchurian Chess. Widely-played regional variant on Chinese Chess.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Anonymous wrote on 2010-04-25 UTC
Impossible to play as black: too dumb AI: it captures pawn, puting rook under atack on first turn...

Ed Friedlander wrote on 2006-12-23 UTC
I am really sorry you have been so frustrated.  One or the other of us is
misunderstanding the rules.  It seems to me that the plain sense (the
rook
can check as rook, cannon, or Chinese knight) does give checkmate in the
positions you have diagrammed.  Am I wrong?  There was a problem a while
back with the black king recognizing check from a Chinese knight but it
has been fixed.

Anonymous wrote on 2005-01-19 UTCPoor ★
IT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE WHEN RED'S ROOK IS GIVING CHECK AS A HORSE UNLESS
THERE IS SOMETHING IN THE WAY, WHEN IT IS REALLY NOT CHECK!!
For example: (Again, only Black's side of the river is shown.)

+-h-+-g-k-g-e-h-+
| | | |\|/| | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-*-+-+
| | | |/|\| | | |
+-c-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
| | | | | | | | |
p-+-p-+-p-+-p-+-p
| | | | | | | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-e-+-+

Anonymous wrote on 2004-09-27 UTC
This position is still given as checkmate (only Black's
side of the river is shown):
R---N---E---G---K---G---r---+---+
|   |   |   | \ | / |   |   |   |
+---+---+---+---+---+---+---+---+
|   |   |   | / | \ |   |   |   |
+---C---+---+---+---+---+---+---R
|   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |
P---+---P---+---P---+---P---+---P
|   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |
+---+---+---+---+---+---+---+---+
This position was declared checkmate, even though Black can
move Black's King up.

Anonymous wrote on 2004-08-10 UTC
It is now failing to recognize Check by a regular Horse. Example: (Red's
side of the board is shown; Black pieces are lowercase, Red are capital.)
+---+---+---+---+---p---+---+---+
|   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |
P---+---h---r---+---+---+---+---+
|   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |
+---+---+---G---+---+---+---+---+
|   |   |   | \ | / |   |   |   |
+---+---+---K---G---+---+---+---+
|   |   |   | / | \ |   |   |   |
+---+---E---+---+---+---+---+---+
Black to move, but Red is in check.

Anonymous wrote on 2004-08-10 UTC
You still have Red's Rook able to check as a Knight (with jumps). It should be Rook + Cannon + <b>Horse</b>, but you have it as Rook + Cannon + Knight (with jumps when putting the King in check.)

Anonymous wrote on 2004-08-08 UTC
The following positions are reported to be Checkmate when they are not:
r-h-e-g-k-g-*-h-r
| | | |\|/| | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
| | | |/|\| | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
| | | | | | | | |
p-c-p-+-p-+-p-+-p
| | | | | | | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
|               |
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
| | | | | | | | |
P-+-c-+-P-+-P-+-P
| | | | | | | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
| | | |\|/| | | |
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
| | | |/|\| | | |
+-+-E-G-K-G-E-+-+
Available moves for Black:
Ke9-e8

7 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.