The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Russian Chess. Pieces are not removed when captured, but stacked. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Yu Ren Dong wrote on 2012-02-05 UTC
http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%A0%D1%83%D1%81%D1%81%D0%BA%D0%B8%D0%B5_%D1%88%D0%B0%D1%85%D0%BC%D0%B0%D1%82%D1%8B

Wiki

Victoria wrote on 2005-11-23 UTCGood ★★★★
I used your information for my school project, and it got me a grand grade! thanks a bundle!

Anonymous wrote on 2004-09-25 UTCPoor ★
because i am elderly man.

Charles Gilman wrote on 2004-03-08 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
I was thinking of submitting a smiilar variant myself. Just as well that I saw this page first and saved the bother.

JorgKnappen wrote on 2003-08-22 UTC
The game resembles much to Pillar Chess (described on this site)
and >>Das trojanische Spiel<< (commercial, german game, having a link
in the german section of this site).

Ivan A Derzhanski wrote on 2003-04-01 UTC
The site gives no explicit answer to that question. My own opinion is as follows: Since it is the topmost man that determines who the stack belongs to and how it moves, you shouldn't be able to castle with a Rook that's inside a stack. You should, however, regain the option of doing so if the Rook is uncaptured without having been moved out of the corner. Likewise, a Pawn captured and released before having moved should be able to make a double move. --ID

Ed wrote on 2003-04-01 UTC
Thanks for clarifying.  Can you castle using a rook which has
been 'captured' but not left its original square and is now in
a friendly stack?

Ivan A Derzhanski wrote on 2003-03-31 UTC
The King can never be within a stack. You may not capture your own King (otherwise the first thing you'd do would be to use your Queen to do so, creating a royal Queen that would be very hard to checkmate), and, as in OrthoChess, a King may not be left _en prise_ until checkmated. --ID

Ed wrote on 2003-03-31 UTC
If the king is within a stack, can that stack cross a square that is under attack by the opponent?

9 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.