The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a piececlopedia entry
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 1998-09-14
 Author: Ben  Good. Inventor: Robert  Abbott. Coordinator. Takes in `coordination' with king.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
carlos carlos wrote on 2006-01-23 UTC
thanks guys.

Antoine Fourrière wrote on 2006-01-23 UTC
Oops, sorry. Yes, it would still be a capture, regardless of whether the departure square would have been a capture square if the Coordinator landed there instead. (And that's the way it is implemented in the Ultima/Maxima zrfs.)

carlos carlos wrote on 2006-01-23 UTC
thanks, antoine. although your example doesn't match my question. what i mean is, let's say a black coordinator is on a4 and a black king is on e1. let's say a white piece moves into e4. this is not a loss of the white piece, i'm sure. but what if on the next move the black coordinator simply moves to b4. that's a capture too, right? or wrong?

Antoine Fourrière wrote on 2006-01-23 UTC
Yes, it would be a capture. (At Maxima, a Coordinator on e9 in front of his King on e10 may fend off a Long Leaper check on a10 by going to a9, provided there is no piece in the way.)

carlos carlos wrote on 2006-01-23 UTC
if a coordinator moves along a rank (so NOT to a new rank), can it still take a piece on that rank which is on the same file as the coordinator's king? i.e. black king at h2, black coordinator at g3, white pawn at g2. can the coordinator move to g6 and capture the pawn? it is not technically moving into the same rank as the pawn. so i originally thought that this would not be a capture. however, the rules say 'at the end of the move' which make me think it would be a capture. can anyone confirm this?

5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.