The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2004-04-26
 By Peter  Gelman. Monkey King Chess. Monkey King fights Goblin King on 44 squares board in game with oriental influences. (5x8, Cells: 44) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Anonymous wrote on 2011-07-09 UTC
can a celestial on the river flip as a move to avoid being captured?

Vitya Makov wrote on 2010-01-30 UTC
'you may flip the disk and simultaneously move it according to that new game piece's abilities' >Does it mean that I can flip and make a move with flipped piece in one move? Yes. If that side has its Pilgrim or Goblin King on board, his/her flippable pieces on the magic river can flip identity and move as the flipped piece, or not flip and move as the original piece--they have the potentially as either. 'On the other hand, when a piece stands on a magic river square, it attains the powers of both sides of its disk, making it a doubly powerful piece with (in a way) two simultaneous but separate identities. This can lead to opportunistic flipping, perhaps the happiest moments in the game. If your Pilgrim or Goblin King isn’t on the board, you deny your forces this power.'

Vitya Makov wrote on 2010-01-30 UTC
'When you flip and move a piece off a Magic River square, does it stay flipped? Or does it turn back to the original side?' Stays flipped. (The inventor)

John Smith wrote on 2010-01-28 UTC
When you flip and move a piece off a Magic River square, does it stay flipped? Or does it turn back to the original side?

Vitya Makov wrote on 2010-01-16 UTC
Another clarification. Monkey King cannot capture piece using Monkey Fist if for the first move it moves Cloud off. So, such move: M Q-101 - b5 (Cloud off) and from b5 capture a piece on c6 (using Fist for this move) - (b5:c6) is incorrect! Because, 'No piece may make a capture when they fly to or from a cloud'.

Vitya Makov wrote on 2010-01-05 UTC
Clarification of rules by Peter Gelman. Flight: Movement From the Cloud Boards 'A disk starting movement on a Cloud square must note the color of the square first; it may fly to any empty square on the Earth board of the same color, or the other Cloud’s square of the same color if it is empty.' For example, Red Monkey King is on R-101. From R-101 Monkey King can fly to all White Earth squares: a1, a3, a5, a7; b2, b4, b6, b8, etc. Also to White Goblin Cloud square R-100. So, a player can move piece from his Cloud to opponent territory (5-8 ranks in this example).

Vitya Makov wrote on 2010-01-03 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Fantastic, brilliant game!

John Smith wrote on 2010-01-01 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Excellent page for this game. I like how it goes in depth about the design influences and has notes on play. The hand-painted pieces are a nice touch as well, where the chart is an easy reference during play.

Peter Gelman wrote on 2004-05-21 UTC
Sorry for my edit error! This is correct: The Monkey King player cannot flip disks unless he/she has initially placed the Pilgrim disk on the board. (This part should be deleted: 'or The Monkey King can flip disks whether or not the Pilgrim has been placed on the board.')

Peter Aronson wrote on 2004-05-21 UTC
<blockquote><i> The Monkey King player cannot flip disks unless he/she has initially placed the Pilgrim disk on the board. or The Monkey King can flip disks whether or not the Pilgrim has been placed on the board. </i></blockquote> Hi, I was in the process of building a preset for this game when I noticed these two lines, which seem to contradict each other. So, which is correct? Can the Red player flip pieces before placing the Pilgrim on the board? <p> <hr> <p> Hey, Fergus -- if you happen to see this before I manage to e-mail you, I've created alfmonkey-king.php under pbm/sets -- could you add it in properly for me? <p> Thanks!

Jeff Rients wrote on 2004-04-26 UTCGood ★★★★
I love the disk illustrations! They're so cute!

11 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.