The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a reference work
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2003-01-07
 Author: Hans L. Bodlaender. Miscellaneous Chess FAQ. Some answers to some frequently asked questions about chess and trivia.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Fergus Duniho wrote on 2006-01-29 UTC
You haven't described the situation clearly enough to tell. The rule in Chess is that a King may not move into check. If a King is able to move out of check by capturing the enemy Queen, then it should be able to do so.

Keli wrote on 2006-01-29 UTCGood ★★★★
I play chess on a computer program called 'WorldChessNetwork' and in the program it does now allow the king to capture a queen once put into check be said queen even if capturing the queen is the only way to get out of check, is this a real rule or a flaw of the program?

AdamD wrote on 2005-11-22 UTC
I think you got a little mixed up between one and won

ZEZima lover wrote on 2005-11-11 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
I thought there would be another fool's mate. (queen f3- bishop c4) for white.

John Lawson wrote on 2003-06-18 UTC
You can force him to move the piece. It's still up to him to choose any legal move with it.

tada wrote on 2003-06-18 UTCGood ★★★★
can you force a player to make a stale mate if your playing 'touch move' and he touches the piece?

6 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.