The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2011-04-25
 By Daniil  Frolov. Sonic the Hedgehog Chess Advanced version. Missing description (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Charles Gilman wrote on 2011-05-06 UTC
Yes, but blocked from going any further after the capture, or blocked from starting out in the first place on the chain that would lead to it?

Daniil Frolov wrote on 2011-05-01 UTC
I thought that it's obvious that rook would be blocked. In original hexagonal variant pieces turns 120° because it's closer to original StHC, where they turns 180°.

Charles Gilman wrote on 2011-05-01 UTC
Still no clarification on what happens when a second or later turn is blocked. For example, what if a White Rook on d2 captures Black pieces on d6 and b6 (as in diagram) but there is a White piece on b5? Why would pieces on a hex board turn 120° rather than 60°? Is it to cater for AltOrth pieces, for which a 60° turn would be a problem as a 45° turn would be for a Rook or Bishop on a square-cell board?

Daniil Frolov wrote on 2011-04-28 UTC
Page is updated, now it have answers of these questions. Thanks for suggesting crooked variant. I was thinking of it, but forgot to add it as subvariant. P. s.: hexagonal variant is added.

Charles Gilman wrote on 2011-04-28 UTC
Interesting that one of the stopping mechanisms is the edge that also (albeit in a very different way) affects Edgehog pieces. Am I right in thinking that noncapturing moves in this game are normal?

What happens when a piece captures, turns, captures again, and has the adjacent cell in its next direction occupied by an ally? Does the move stop with the second capture? Does this also apply to a third or later capture? What if the first capture has one of its potential next directions blocked, by an ally or the edge of the board? Must the piece turn in the opposite direction or can it use the block to stop? What if both sides are blocked?

This game can be seen as a 'Curved' version. It occurs that there could also be a 'Crooked' version in which turns within a move alternate between left and righr. I can see that this latter version reduces the potential for maximum capturing, but it has the advantage that Pawns could be included. A capturing Pawn could make either another capture along the other diagonal (either to an enemy-occupied square or En Passant) and continue alternating between the two. The move would end either with an orthogonal step to an empty square straight ahead or by being blocked - by the absence of a valid capturing or noncapturing move. Promotion would be considered to happen after a move had been ended by reaching the edge of the board and the move thus be unable to continue through promotion.


5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.