The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.

The Chess Variant Pages

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Multimove Chess. Players spend points to make multiple moves. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Jeremy Good wrote on 2007-07-29 UTC
I like your idea even better, progressive extra cost. Let's do it!

I'm just going to mention in passing that this variant has inspired me to think of a new 'time travel' variant too. Each move, you can either take all 8 of your moves or you can move up to 4 AND take back up to 4 points worth of most recent moves, either your own or your opponent's. Under this scheme, pieces that had been captured could re-emerge and (maybe even) move again! It would be strange indeed, but actually maybe less chaotic, in a sense, than Multimove Chess proper though it would be of course, harder to notate.

David Howe wrote on 2007-07-29 UTC
Or how about a progressive extra cost, so that the 2nd move costs an extra point, the 3rd move costs an extra 2 points, the 4th move an extra 3 points? I would be willing to try this, or your suggestion of a fixed extra 2 points.

Jeremy Good wrote on 2007-07-29 UTC
David, a double move is something very powerful and with the double move, these pawns are very strong and can make development very difficult. Strong pawns might not be a bad idea for this game though. But would you be interested in trying out a variant where the penalty for a double move was 2 instead of 1? What do you think of that?

Jeremy Good wrote on 2007-07-28 UTC
That's my understanding too.

Abdul-Rahman Sibahi wrote on 2007-07-27 UTC
As I understand the rules, a pawn's double move costs 3 points ?

David Howe wrote on 2007-07-26 UTC
Yes, that's correct! Pieces that can change direction in the course of a single, legal move, would not pay an extra point for doing so. The penalty is only for making extra moves (not for moving through extra squares).

Jeremy Good wrote on 2007-07-26 UTC
Hi, David. Ah, it came through a mis-reading of the rules. 'Moving a piece that has already been moved during the turn costs an extra point (ie. adds 1 point to the total cost of the move).' I took it to mean that each time you move a queen through a space it is a separate movement. But I think the meaning is that each time you move a linear piece into a new direction it would cost an extra point, no?

Sorry for my misinterpretation. I sometimes tend to stumble my way slowly through games I'm learning.

(With pieces that allow changes in direction as part of their movement, such as Atlantean Barroom Shatranjian piece, switches in direction could happen without additional penalty.)

David Howe wrote on 2007-07-26 UTC
'For any other piece [than a knight] to make a non-capturing move two spaces, it costs 3 points.'

I don't think that's true. Rather, it is true for pawns and kings, but for a queen, bishop or rook, it would cost 2 points (1 point to move through the first square, and 1 point to move into the destination square).

Jeremy, if you could point out which rules have lead you to believe the statements you made, I would appreciate it. I'll want to modify them to be more clear. Thanks!

Jeremy Good wrote on 2007-07-26 UTC
The longest range piece in Multimove FIDE Chess is the knight. For any other piece to make a non-capturing move two spaces, it costs 3 points. If one were to replace the queen with a guard, bishop with a ferz and rook with wazir, it would make no difference to this game.

Jeremy Good wrote on 2007-07-23 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Very nicely done. In Multimove FIDE Chess, white should probably start with four points for sake of balance.

10 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.