The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2017-05-07
 By Nick  Wolff. Mimic Chess. Chess on a larger board with 3 new pieces with constantly changing movement capabilities.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Nick Wolff wrote on 2017-05-09 UTC

Thank you for the rating!  The Zillions file doesn't play poorly if you have the program.  I also have a GC preset available in case you are interested in a game vs a player.


Jeffrey T. Kubach wrote on 2017-05-09 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

That makes sense, very interesting.  It would require some pretty deep thinking, even for just the next move or two, if all three of those pieces are interacting.  I'll have to try this sometime.


Nick Wolff wrote on 2017-05-09 UTC

Hi Jeffrey and thank you for your comments!

I'll answer your questions here and then clarify in the rules.  The Mimics are all independant of each other - only the capturing Mimic changes after it captures, the other one does not, nor the Mimics in the other army.  The transformation is immediate after that capture, so it ends the turn transformed.

For example, if each side has 2 Mimic Kings and black uses one to capture a Knight, then White still has 2 Mimic Kings and black has 1 Mimic King and 1 Mimic Knight.  These transformations are mandatory.

I hope you enjoy the game and if you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to ask!

-Nick


Jeffrey T. Kubach wrote on 2017-05-09 UTC

I haven't had a chance to play this yet, but the new pieces seem very creative and cleverly placed on the board.  Just to confirm, do Mimics both change after each capture, and if a Mimic captures a piece, does it presumably become like that piece right afterward?  Do all four Mimics (2 from each side) change simultaneously when any piece is captured or only its own side's pieces?


4 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.