The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Ascension. (Updated!) 6x6 board with two Kings that promote to royal Queens.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
H. G. Muller wrote on 2022-11-25 UTC

You will have to be more specific, as for me this doesn't seem to happen. What exactly is the position in which the castling failed, and how did you reach it?


Albert Lee wrote on 2022-11-25 UTC

To the person who created the playable setup, thanks a lot.

However, when I was playing it, I noticed that there was a bug in the castling - the King disappeared!


Albert Lee wrote on 2022-11-25 UTC

Thanks Greg for your question.

I have not thought much about whether the royal Queen can move through a square where it would be put in check. Since in orthodox chess, the King can never move into a square where it will be in check even when castling, then it is a natural extension that it should also be true for a royal Queen. This will restrict the possible squares that a royal Queen can move into, and limit its power.

I will add a note in the promotion rules to clarify this matter.


H. G. Muller wrote on 2022-10-20 UTC

I don't think this is something that we can take for granted. I considered this a very innovative idea in Caissa Brittanica.

And I am not sure this would be unplayable without it. Each player has two royals, and the loss of one of those is already fatal. Even if both Kings promote to Queen there seems to be ample opportunity to beat those by forking or skewering the two, on such a small board. Also note that when one side has two Queens, the other side likely will have two too. If one side was allowed to promote to Queen twice without compensation, it would not be a big surprise that the opponent has no chance to win. No matter whether the obtained Queens were royal or not. And two Queens on a near-empty 6x6 board cover an awfully large fraction of all squares. It might not be so difficult to force checkmate even with one additional piece (e.g. in QQR-QQ).


Greg Strong wrote on 2022-10-19 UTC

The rules don't really say if the royal Queen can slide across squares that are attacked. I'm assuming they cannot.


5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.