The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2002-03-15
 Author: Peter  Aronson. Inventor: Peter  Aronson and Ben  Good. Golem Chess. Variant where the Queen is replaced by the Golem, a piece that must be captured twice to remove it from play. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
George Duke wrote on 2008-06-14 UTC
The first capture of Golem removes the piece capturing. The second capture any time later of Golem removes the Golem itself, designated Half-Golem for the moves in the interval after the first ''capture.''

Peter Aronson wrote on 2005-04-25 UTC
If a Half-Golem captures an adjacent Golem, then the Half-Golem is removed from play and the Golem is replaced by a Half-Golem as per usual. The line is just explaining the restrictions on Golem and Half-Golem captures of Golems and Half-Golems; in general, this sort of capture is still referred to as capture in these rules.

Greg Strong wrote on 2005-04-24 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Very interesting!

Half-golem capturing adjacent half-golem:  It says 'If a piece other than
a Golem captures a Golem, the capturing piece is removed from play, and the
Golem is replaced by a Half-Golem of the same ownership as the Golem.' 
But it also says 'A Golem or Half-Golem may always capture an adjacent
Golem or Half-Golem.'

What happens here?  And likewise, if a half-golem captures an adjacent
full-golem, is the capturing piece also removed?

Peter Aronson wrote on 2005-01-31 UTC
<blockquote><i> does this mean that queens do exist in golem chess but only as promoted pawns? </i></blockquote><p> Exactly. We probably should have put it that 'Golems replace Queens in the initial array' or some such language.

tommy wrote on 2005-01-31 UTC
one question: it is stated that pawns may be promoted to queens. it has also been stated that golems replace queens at the beginning of the game. does this mean that queens do exist in golem chess but only as promoted pawns?

5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.