[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Later ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier Clockwork Orange Chess. Captured pieces are replaced with non-capturing counterparts. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-03-01 UTCExcellent ★★★★★A cool idea for a variant. It takes some time to discover various strategies that can be employed by the players with the stated rules. [edit: My tentative estimates for the piece values are as follows: Capturing pieces: P=2; B=3; N=3.5; R=4 and Q=6 (same values as I gave for in Crazyhouse); Non-capturing pieces: P=1.25; B=1.5; N=1.75; R=2 and Q=3 (computed using x0.5 penalty for non-capturing movements - note a pawn is thus slightly less affected in its value decrease).] Fergus Duniho wrote on 2018-01-21 UTCIt is part of the meaning of non-capturing that non-capturing pieces cannot check the King. After all, check just means that the piece would be able to capture the King if it were the turn of the player with that piece. If non-capturing pieces could check the King, that would have been stated explicitly as an exception to the non-capuring nature of these pieces, but it was not. Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-01-21 UTCI'm playing my first GC game of this variant. The rules enforcing preset did not announce 'check' when a non-capturing piece/pawn could have been giving one, so I now assume that it's assumed by the rules that non-capturing pawns/pieces do not in fact have the power to give check, checkmate, or contribute to any possible stalemate. Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-01-16 UTCOne thing I haven't seen mentioned explicitly in the rules, but which seems to be assumed, is that non-capturing pieces or non-capturing pawns are capable of giving check or checkmate (or even contributing to a stalemate, if that were somehow ever possible). Gary Gifford wrote on 2004-04-03 UTCExcellent ★★★★★I just want to say that I am quite impressed with Clockwork Orange Chess. It is easy to play and the Shogi-like drop of active and neutral pieces adds a great deal to the tactical and strategic arena. I appreciate the allegorical aspect of the game. Its relation to the Clockwork Orange story is both intriguing and carries a subtle humorous tone. I saw the movie... but now feel inclined to read the book. If a remake of Clockwork Orange is made, I think that to have a few characters in the movie playing Clockwork Orange Chess would be a very nice touch. Thank you Fergus Duniho, for bringing us this enjoyable and clever variant. Fergus Duniho wrote on 2004-04-03 UTCYes, promoted Pawns retain their promotion. Michael Schmahl wrote on 2004-04-02 UTCExcellent ★★★★★Promoted pawns retain their promoted status after being captured, I assume? Fergus Duniho wrote on 2004-03-25 UTCLarry Smith has it right. I have now clarified the rules on this page, so that this point gets covered. Larry Smith wrote on 2004-03-25 UTCExcellent ★★★★★Well, according to the ZRF non-capturing Pawns promote to other non-capturing pieces. This appears very logical. A very interesting game. Sort of Alice Chess meets Shogi with boxing gloves in a knife fight. ;-) Charles Gilman wrote on 2004-03-25 UTCExcellent ★★★★★What can non-capturing Pawns be promoted to? 10 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ EarlierPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.