The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2001-04-10
 By Fergus  Duniho. Assimilation Chess. Increase your material by assimilating your opponent's pieces. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-03-01 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

Cool concept!


Fergus Duniho wrote on 2006-08-19 UTC
That's correct. They may not.

Stephen Stockman wrote on 2006-08-18 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Can a knight assimilate with a queen?
In reading the rules it appears they my not, is that correct?

Fergus Duniho wrote on 2004-04-16 UTC
Mike Nelson has correctly answered your questions. Regarding splitting and capturing in the same move, I already tried this in Sentai Chess, the precursor of Fusion Chess. It was too powerful of a move, making the game less balanced. When one compound piece attacked a defended compound piece, it could capture it with minimal loss. This made compound pieces a bit too much like rifle pieces.

Michael Nelson wrote on 2004-04-15 UTC
Charles,

I checked the Zillions implementation for the answers, as the page is
somewhat unclear on some of them.

(1) Yes, you can capture an uncombinable piece.

(2) Yes, the captured piece is removed form the game.

(3) You must alway capture with the compound piece, as splitting may only
be done by moving to an empty square.

Split and capture would make an interesting variant. In that variant, my
answer to (3) would be:

Yes. If for you need to vacate the starting square (for example to give
discovered check).

Charles Gilman wrote on 2004-04-15 UTCGood ★★★★
(1) Can a piece capture an enemy with which it cannot combine? If not
ignore the other questions.
(2) If a piece captures an enemy with which it cannot combine, is the
capture exactly like FIDE Chess, and if not, what happens?
(3) Are there any circumstances where it is advantageous to capture with
the whole of a compound piece rather than with just a component that can
combine with the captured piece?

6 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.