The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Afterlife Chess. A game based on Ancient Egyption mythology, played on four boards totaling 42 squares. (Cells: 42) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Anthony Viens wrote on 2018-10-24 UTCAverage ★★★

Average score for sheer originality....no higher due to my doubts of actual playability.

This is crazy. Very interesting ideas hidden here though.


Anonymous wrote on 2008-01-08 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
What happens to captured Mercenaries?

Matthew Paul wrote on 2004-08-21 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
For the great ideas!  This is the most interesting themed variant I've
seen.

However, I think it might be better for playability by enlarging all of
the boards (save Limbo), with some rules adjustments, and maybe more
pieces.  I think this variant is certainly worth some more development.

Anonymous wrote on 2003-01-23 UTC
What happens to captured mercenary? Does he go to the Limbo?

Anonymous wrote on 2002-12-20 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
Pretty interesting idea, though a high priest in the hall of truth could stop any enemy piece from reincairnating(I think) if the owner of the high priest gets enough spare turns to position and reposition it.

smakarov wrote on 2002-11-03 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
The prospect of reincarnation might seem hard to acheive, but then again, that's how it is in Egypt, eh? Only 1 question - does the 12 Hours redemption rule apply to Sethlings?

LCC (author) wrote on 2002-09-27 UTC
No, doing so does not constitute a turn and is mandatory. It is automatic, after the piece's owner's first movement after its capture. The limbo is a conceptual/gaming tool to provide another element to piece exchanges.

Anonymous wrote on 2002-08-20 UTC
Does the move out of limbo constitute a turn?

LCC (the author) wrote on 2002-07-30 UTC
A question has arisen during playtest. Isn't a Pharaoh in the Hall of Truth
virtually incapturable, if it decides to stay there? The Hall of Truth
should be part of a process of rebirth, not a hiding spot. I therefore
propose a 'bare kingdom' vistory rule, that is, if a player has no pieces
'alive' (in the World board), he loses.

Does anyone agree it's necessary?

And as always, suggestions and critics are welcome.

Lastly, I'd like to thank Peter Aronson for organizing and making the
correct graphics for my confusing text-only descriptions :)

Jianying Ji wrote on 2002-07-30 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
this is really cool! conceptually cohesive with every element contributing

10 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.