The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Earlier Reverse Order Later
This item is a play-by-email page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2009-11-30
 By Fergus  Duniho. Gross Chess. Play this 144 square variant online with Game Courier.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-01-31 UTC

I'm apparently not allowed by the Gross Chess preset in a game of mine to move my king to k11 (4 spaces) and the rook to j11 when kingside castling, as I thought was allowed by the rules page for Gross Chess (that's with all other legality conditions for castling being valid). That may be since the rook initially occupies where the king wants to go, and I don't know how to do that with the preset, or else the inventor (Fergus) may have worded the castling rules a bit ambiguously, as in queenside castling there would probably be no such trouble for me (I know in the Colossus preset [Fergus did the preset], the rules state the king when castling can occupy the rook's square when moving 4 spaces, by 'capturing the rook' with the king). Can anyone tell me if my desire to castle kingside in my Gross Chess game by moving the king 4 squares is in fact illegal by the rules?:

/play/pbm/play.php?game=Gross+Chess&log=panther-cvgameroom-2018-27-108

[edit: since Gross Chess, I've read, is based partly on Grotesque Chess, where the castling rules are explained, perhaps moreso in detail than for Gross Chess, I've surmissed that in Gross Chess moving the king 4 spaces, onto the king's rook's square {with the rook still on it}, would be illegal by the rules of Gross Chess on my part. So, I'll castle, legally, another way instead.]


Greg Strong wrote on 2018-02-01 UTC

That's correct - Gross Chess uses "Flexible Castling", a system where the king moves 2 or more spaces toward the rook but must stop before the square the rook occupies.  It's true that the wording could be a little more clear.


H. G. Muller wrote on 2018-02-01 UTC

I would never have interpreted "the King can move two or more squares towards the Rook" as that it could also move on top of the Rook, or over it (in case the Rook would not start in the corner). Because it is so natural for an orthodox Chess player that moves of arbitrary length must stop when they bump into a friendly piece. I suppose this interpretation is possible, however, and even defensible by the argument that the Rook would leave that square in the same move (like in Fischer castling).

So it seems the wording of the rules of Gross and Grotesque Chess will have to be sharpened a little, to make it unambiguous whether this is allowed or not.


3 comments displayed

Earlier Reverse Order Later

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.