[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Earlier ⇧Reverse Order⇩ Later Patt-schach (Stalemate chess). Players start with an illegal move from a stalemated position. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Anonymous wrote on 2004-06-22 UTCHow is this position stalemate? Can't you move your pawns??? John Lawson wrote on 2004-06-22 UTCNo, you can't. The white pawns are moving UP the board, and the black are moving DOWN. George Duke wrote on 2004-06-22 UTCGood ★★★★I maintain the starting arrays within Passed Pawns Chess and Passed Pawns, Scorpions and Dragon are improvements over this 'advanced pawns' concept. I did not find Patt-schach and Upside-Down Chess right away(although I knew I had seen them about 1996), as references for those two variant pages from 2003, designed equally to highlight Falcon move. George Duke wrote on 2008-11-07 UTCGood question. This is the opposite of what you mean. Almost. John Smith wrote on 2008-12-13 UTCGood ★★★★I think it would be interesting if you lose if all of your pieces can make a legal move. Yu Ren Dong wrote on 2009-01-29 UTCGood ★★★★http://www.pathguy.com/chess/PattScha.htm Patt-schach is a good exemple improving well for Upside-Down Chess. Anonymous wrote on 2011-12-12 UTCWhat happen in case white player move to a2 or to h2 can they be captured George Duke wrote on 2011-12-12 UTCNot on Black's first turn. It is 'illegal move' for any White pawn or piece to go from starting array to a2 or h2, so she is free to do so for the illegal opening requirement. The two Pawns of Black on b and g have the move to capture a2 or h2 but that would be legal. Each first move has to be illegal. Black may then take a piece on a2 or h2 turn 2 onward by any legal move. Actually both players have to occupy, attack, or protect respectively c6 and c3 on their first move, the only illegal moving of piece or Pawn. Otherwise they are subject to immediate checkmate by and if Knight reaching c6/c3. The article shows historical 'Resign' on move 2 by Wolf. That scenario is kind of a flaw or bust or cook to this CV, forcing limited line of development. Solution there is just to place the second b-Pawns at 5 and 4 instead. George Duke wrote on 2017-03-01 UTCGood ★★★★The first move has to be illegal, so Black Pawn cannot on the first move take a White Pawn that has moved 1 P-a2. Since it is legal move for Black, he cannot do so on move 1. TheObliquityOfTheEcl wrote on 2018-10-29 UTC"Pawns may only promote to a piece that has been taken by the opponent" is ambiguous. Does it mean: A pawn may not promote to a piece unless at least one of the starting pieces has been taken (and thus the board will always have at most the same set of 7 capturable pieces), i.e. if my opponent captures my rook I may promote only one pawn to a rook and may not promote again until my opponent captures another piece; or A pawn may promote to any piece that the opponent has ever captured, i.e. if my opponent captures my rook I may thereafter promote as many pawns to rooks as I please? Fergus Duniho wrote on 2018-10-29 UTCThe former is a common rule in other games, but I don't know of any game where the latter is a rule. 11 comments displayedEarlier ⇧Reverse Order⇩ LaterPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.