[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Later ⇩Reverse Order⇧ Earlier Oxybeles Chess. Introducing the exceptional Oxybeles piece, which can hurl pieces over its head, on a Gustavian board (zrf available).[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Claudio Martins Jaguaribe wrote on 2006-10-18 UTCThanks. M Winther wrote on 2006-10-18 UTCClaudio, that the rooks only lose their castling rights if moving by their own accord is not illogical, but the truth is that I didn't code for this event because it doesn't occur often. So this rule is of no real consequence. Concerning the evaluation of the piece, I am not certain if it's correct. I have studied computer-generated games, and I've removed two light pieces on the one side, and the two Oxybeles/Mangonels on the other side. The resultant struggle was even, so I concluded that these new pieces are equal to the light pieces. These new catapult pieces are slow, moving one square at a time, is a factor that lessens their value. Moreover, their hurling capability is something that benefits *other* pieces, so one could argue that all pieces gets stronger this way, also the king. Therefore the relative values are retained, and the catapult's value remains low. Had the catapult's value been higher, then it could not expose itself to other pieces, and then it would remain useless. The catapult must position itself to be of any value. The Mangonel's tactical capability is impressing, but perhaps the Oxybeles is the more serious piece. The Mangonel is perhaps a little over the top, but this is just a first impression. /Mats Claudio Martins Jaguaribe wrote on 2006-10-18 UTCI have a question about castling: If a hook is hurled, and captures a piece, and then, is hurled back it stills keeps the castling possibility? (remember, the capture happend when the rook landed in the destination square). Does this ability considerated to calculate the value of the piece? After all increases the value of other pieces significantly. Or the short movement and the impossibility to take other pieces is to balance it? Thanks. 3 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ EarlierPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.