[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments/Ratings for a Single Item Earlier ⇧Reverse Order⇩ Later Excelsior. At certain moments in the game, pieces are moved to an additional 5 by 4 area. (8x8x2, Cells: 84) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Dan Troyka wrote on 2002-12-15 UTCI'm about to start on a zrf for this game and have a few questions. Are the only circumstances in which a piece promotes to the upper level (a) when it captures an enemy piece, (b) checks the enemy King, or (c) in the case of a Pawn, promotes on the far row? Is promotion in such circumstances mandatory or optional? Also, does the Squire move to the upper level when it promotes to a Knight? With regard to promotion by checking, does this happen only when a piece attacks the enemy King directly after moving, or does it also happen when a move uncovers check by another piece or pieces? If it happens in the latter case, which piece promotes? If the first rank on the upper level is full, will a promoted piece then be placed in the second rank? Does 'bare King' mean that all friendly pieces have been captured on both boards, or that the King is bare only on the bottom board? Also, are there any other win conditions? Finally, are there any rules from Super Advanced Chess or Advanced Chess that apply to Excelsior which have not been stated on this page? In particular, I'm assuming that the Pawns are standard FIDE Pawns (without en passant) and not Pawns from Advanced Chess. Thanks, Dan Troyka George Duke wrote on 2005-02-12 UTCPoor ★'DEF,LargeCV': What goes to 5x4 upper level: any Pawn promotee, any checking piece, any capturing piece. There is not room there for potentially thirty-four units, nor provision to return to the main board from the twenty squares. John Smith wrote on 2008-10-13 UTCPoor ★What is the purpose of the 2nd board? This game is not very good, as with any capture you are almost losing material, and a check is for naught as the checking piece just disappears, unable to capture the King. 3 comments displayedEarlier ⇧Reverse Order⇩ LaterPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.