The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Ascension. (Updated!) 6x6 board with two Kings that promote to royal Queens.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Albert Lee wrote on 2022-11-25 UTC

Thanks Greg for your question.

I have not thought much about whether the royal Queen can move through a square where it would be put in check. Since in orthodox chess, the King can never move into a square where it will be in check even when castling, then it is a natural extension that it should also be true for a royal Queen. This will restrict the possible squares that a royal Queen can move into, and limit its power.

I will add a note in the promotion rules to clarify this matter.