The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Simplified Makpong. Makruk variant.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Henk Drost wrote on 2021-04-11 UTC

what means "if in range"? Does that just means that the King may capture an attacking piece? If the attacking piece is not 1-square away from the King I don't see how the K would have been able to capture it anyway.

You're right. The K may only move out of a check if it can capture its (singular) attacker.

If the attacking piece is more than 1 square away, it obviously can't.

and what means "capture out of double check". Here I understand that if 2 pieces are attacking the K, he cannot capture both of them. But that is trivial too, no?

It means that if the K is double checked, it is not allowed to move out of the double check. Not even by capturing one of the attackers.

So I guess that the important rule is that when a K is under check he can capture the attacking piece but it is forbidden to move the K out of check, to interpose a piece between the K and the attacking piece, or to take the attacking piece with another piece than the K. Is it correct? Or to say that when a K is under check, the only authorized move is if the K can capture the attacking piece.

I'll rewrite it to be more clear.

The important rule is that K can't move out of a check, except when it can capture its (singular) attacker. Other pieces are free to move, provided they're legal moves.

interpose a piece between the K and the attacking piece

This is legal.

take the attacking piece with another piece than the K

Also legal.