The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Turnover. Three ring sizes fit into each other, combining and splitting into different pieces, sometimes taking over your opponent's.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
H. G. Muller wrote on 2019-07-01 UTC

Initially I liked the logic of treating recombination/turnover as a non-capture, and true capture as a capture. But when I was thinking about notation, it struck me as even more logical to only treat the recombination as non-capture (i.e. straght Pawn moves), and turnover and true capture as capture (i.e. diagonal Pawn moves). Because only the latter two move types really gain anything; the recombination you can undo any time you want. So recombination is more like a noncapture, where you happen to be allowed to stay with multiple pieces in one square. My SAN notation scheme would only use 'x' for true capture and turnover (the latter with promotion suffix).

I have no idea whether this would actually make a better game. And it is of course silly to let convenience of a notation system influence the rules. But is strikes me as more elegant.