The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a play-by-email page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2009-11-30
 By Fergus  Duniho. Gross Chess. Play this 144 square variant online with Game Courier.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Kevin Pacey wrote on 2018-01-31 UTC

I'm apparently not allowed by the Gross Chess preset in a game of mine to move my king to k11 (4 spaces) and the rook to j11 when kingside castling, as I thought was allowed by the rules page for Gross Chess (that's with all other legality conditions for castling being valid). That may be since the rook initially occupies where the king wants to go, and I don't know how to do that with the preset, or else the inventor (Fergus) may have worded the castling rules a bit ambiguously, as in queenside castling there would probably be no such trouble for me (I know in the Colossus preset [Fergus did the preset], the rules state the king when castling can occupy the rook's square when moving 4 spaces, by 'capturing the rook' with the king). Can anyone tell me if my desire to castle kingside in my Gross Chess game by moving the king 4 squares is in fact illegal by the rules?:

/play/pbm/play.php?game=Gross+Chess&log=panther-cvgameroom-2018-27-108

[edit: since Gross Chess, I've read, is based partly on Grotesque Chess, where the castling rules are explained, perhaps moreso in detail than for Gross Chess, I've surmissed that in Gross Chess moving the king 4 spaces, onto the king's rook's square {with the rook still on it}, would be illegal by the rules of Gross Chess on my part. So, I'll castle, legally, another way instead.]