The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Latrunculi XXI. A 21st century variant on an ancient Chess-like game of the Roman empire. (10x8, Cells: 80) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Jose Carrillo wrote on 2017-12-21 UTC

Thanks Erik for the very interesting question. I do understand the question.

Rule 1c states that "it's illegal for a player to immobilize his own Dux".

Since the move you speak of opens a new path for the Dux to move, the Dux would not be immobilized, and therefore it would be a legal move; just like the Go rule where capture has priority over suicide that you refer to.

Thanks for the question. I will update the rules with a few illustration diagrams to clarify this specific situation.