The Chess Variant Pages

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Circe Chess. Captured pieces return to their original square. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Fergus Duniho wrote on 2016-08-04 UTC

Here is something not explicitly addressed in the rules. Suppose I move a pinned piece to capture another piece whose transfer to another space on the board blocks the check that the capturing piece was originally blocking. The move temporarily exposes my King to check, but it doesn't leave the King in check at the end of the move. In games like Magnetic Chess and Doublemove Chess, exposing a King to capture is legal, but these games also do away with check and checkmate. In games like Alice Chess or Extra Move Chess, it is never legal to move a King into check even when the completed move would not leave the King in check. This game does include check and checkmate, and I'll assume that every move must be a legal Chess move even before the transfer of the captured piece.