The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a reference work
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2002-10-22
 Author: Hans L. Bodlaender. Rules of Chess FAQ. Frequently asked chess questions.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Nicholas Waldorf wrote on 2012-06-28 UTC
Alright. So, here's my scenario: I played a game where the Black King was alone, against a White King, White Queen & a White Pawn. The Black King avoids moving into check. Meanwhile, the the White Pawn gets promoted to White Queen (2). Once this happens, that piece (i.e. White Queen (2)) is then putting the Black King in check (and being guarded by White Queen (1)). So, it is the Black player's turn but he has no legal moves & is now in check... I'm assuming this means that he IS in check mate, but I've seen this maneuver on the computer-ages ago-& it ruled this a stalemate. I can kinda see the argument that it IS the Black player's turn & he has no legal move. However, since he IS in check, I'd think this is a checkmate... Which is correct?