The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a reference work
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2018-08-07
 Author: Hans L. Bodlaender and Fergus  Duniho. Rules of Chess: Pawns FAQ. Rules of promotion and movement of pawns explained.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
H. G. Muller wrote on 2011-03-30 UTC
Yes, that is allowed, and called 'en passant' capture. It was added to chess at the same time as the rule that pawns were allowed to make a double step, to prevent they could abuse that to pass a Pawn they could not have safely passed with only single steps.