The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Space Chess. Three dimensional commercial chess variant. (8x8x3, Cells: 192) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Tim O'Lena wrote on 2009-03-29 UTC
I am reading from the original rules and I would like to add or clarify some items.

There is no restriction on using the star squares for transferring two levels on the first move. Rule 2d. clearly states:

'A piece or a pawn which lands on a 'Star' squre on its first move has the option of transferring either one or two Levels.'


CAPTURING

Pieces are immune from capture by pieces on other levels. However, you are allowed to capture an enemy piece on a Star square and then jump to another level. The same options are open when a piece or pawn captures for the first time.