The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 1996-01-15
 By Ralph  Betza. Missing the Mark. Making intentional errors. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
George Duke wrote on 2008-06-14 UTC
Now ''Missing the Mark'' is like Neatham's King's Guard in having what would be called an assistor too. Betza's rules here include that, in making the one-square-horizontal allowable systematic mistake in the departure square, there must be ''another piece right beside the one you intend to move'' that is moved in its place. Except that Betza recommends that, oppositely for Black, Black moves the piece itself to the square the Assistor would reach, not the Assistor. [No, on second thought, that would be third option, not used by Betza. Betza's Black is to move (mistakenly) the horizontally-adjacent Assistor (RNBQKP) as the original piece would from ''Assistor'' departure square, not as if from original piece's square; Betza describes it.] We studied this for everyone in the CV's only preceding Comment in 2007 and find the idea to be another Mutator widely applicable. Actually, a White Bishop at g1 can move a Rook (Black or White) at h1 as far as a7, much more than any one-square displacement.