The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a game information page
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2002-12-03
Flipworld. Pieces are on both sides of a disc. (6x7x2, Cells: 84) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Dan Troyka wrote on 2002-12-10 UTC
I'm working on a zrf for this game and have some questions. Are the vectors numbered clockwise from 1 to 6 in both Topside and Flipside? If they are on opposite sides of a disc, and if vector 1 in Topside and vector 1 in Flipside are to be considered two opposite faces of the same 'pie slice', then the vectors would have to be numbered in opposite directions (clockwise from 1 to 6 on one side, and counterclockwise from 1 to 6 on the other). For purposes of the following questions I'm assuming that the key diagram in the web page applies to both Topside and Flipside, so that the vectors are numbered clockwise in both. This means that vector 2 in Topside is opposite vector 6 in Flipside, etc. If a yellow Pawn is in position T16 (Topside, vector 1, circuit 6), what space or spaces can it move to? If it can move to either T17 or F17 (F = Flipside), must T17 be empty in order for it to move to F17? What spaces can it capture on? If it can capture on F27, must T27 be empty? If a yellow Pawn is in position T17, what spaces in Flipside can it move or capture to? If it can move to F16, must F17 be empty? If a Knight is on T16, what spaces can it move to in Flipside? Same question for a Knight on T17. Same questions for a Tocop in positions T16 and T17. It appears from the diagram that a Starman in vector 5 of Topside emerges in vector 2 of Flipside when passing through the Nexus, and cannot move to F57 even though it can move to T57. In the other examples showing motion to or through the Nexus (Knight, Bishop, Tocop), a piece that can move to one space in the Nexus can always move to the corresponding space in the Nexus on the other side. What is the difference between the Starman and these other pieces? If a Rook is on T16, what spaces can it move to in Flipside? I understand from the Starman diagram that the Rook can move to space F47 and slide outward to F41. Must T17 or T47 be empty in order for the Rook to make it to Flipside? Thanks. This is an intriguing game but it is not easy to infer the details.