[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Single Comment The Duke of Rutland's Chess. Large variant from 18th century England. (14x10, Cells: 140) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Retep wrote on 2008-03-11 UTCI have a question about the rules, I am not sure about the en passant rule. The following rule is described: 'On squares passed over, the pawn can be taken en passant.' Does this mean, if the pawn makes an initial double step en passant is like in orthodox chess? In case of an inital triple step, for example b2-b5, does it mean black pawns a5, c5 could move to b4 taking away b5 OR black pawns a4, c4 move to b3 taking away b5? It could also mean a5,c5,a4,c4 all must move to b4, though I don't think so. Thanks in advance for a clarification.