The Chess Variant Pages
Custom Search




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

This item is a reference work
It belongs to categories: Orthodox chess, 
It was last modified on: 2003-02-05
 Author: Hans L. Bodlaender. Rules of Chess: Kings and check FAQ. Answers to frequently asked questions on the rules of chess regarding kings and check.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
doug wrote on 2007-12-26 UTC
I'm in a game where the opponents knight is pinned between my queen & his king and therefore cannot move.He moved his queen next to my king in a position where IF he Could move his knight,I'd put my king in check by taking his queen.logic dictates to me that since he is unable to move his knight because it would put his king in check ,then my king should be allowed to take his queen.Is there a ruling for this? I'm sure this is'nt the 1st time this has happened but I've been unable to find any specific ruling for such an instance