[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Single Comment Sanctuary Chess. Archbishop and Swiss Guard replace Queen and King; no checkmate. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Jeremy Good wrote on 2006-02-14 UTCThe rules state that if any two pieces get to the opponent's back rank and neither can be attacked on the next move, then that player wins. 'Pawns' however, are quite often referred to as non-pieces in chess, as in trading 'a piece for two pawns.' It also says that when pawns reach the back rank, they don't promote but remain frozen and unattackable as 'refugees.' Do these 'refugees' count as pieces such that two of them on the back rank can allow one to win? My working assumption is that yes, they do, since it's not easy to get two pawns to the back rank and I don't know what purpose refugees would really be serving otherwise.