The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Medusa Shogi. Missing description (11x11, Cells: 121) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Gary Gifford wrote on 2006-01-20 UTC
As prompted by Larry's comments regaring Morph issues, I have updated the rules page with a Morph examples table. With Medusas, Morphs, and Shogi drops I really want to keep the Morph aspect as simple as possible. And now it really is quite simple. Basically, when a Morph captures a piece, that captured piece goes in-hand to drop. If it is a morph, it stays a morph. It does not matter if the Morph making the capture transforms (to the image of the captured piece) or not. The newly added Morph table (rules page) has several illustrated examples, including that of a Morph-Medusa being captured. Thanks for the comments and questions, they provided impetus to update the rules.