[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Comments by Bn EmLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ EarlierHostage chess clarification[Subject Thread] [Add Response]Bn Em wrote on 2017-02-27 UTCAs I understand it, that means that a player who doesn't have an enemy non-pawn in the prison and has his king on his home rank diagonally in front of an enemy pawn (e.g. White king on e1 and black pawn on d2 - according to the rules not check because the pawn cannot promote and thus cannot move to its back rank or give check there) cannot then capture an enemy non-pawn because the enemy pawn would then be able to move to the last rank and thus capture the king - i.e. capturing an enemy non-pawn in such a case amounts to moving into check. Variant Requests[Subject Thread] [Add Response]Bn Em wrote on 2015-07-08 UTCHow about this?:Pirahna plants can emerge from Warp pipes, pieces which cannot move on their own but work in pairs like teleporters and can be carried similarly to shy guys; the pirahna plants could move like a king to any square within a 2-square radius of the pipe and would come along if the pipe were moved while it was outside. Promotes to Venus Fire Trap which has rifle capture. It cannot be captured when it returns to the pipe (and obviously doesn't warp).Bullet Bills move like rooks in the direction they are fired from a bullet bill launcher, which are similar to warp pipes but uncapturable and unable to work as teleporters. Bills may or may not be subject to Momentum Chess rules and there could be limits on how many can be on the board at one time and I'd guess no double Bills (only one bill on one file/rank going vertically/horizontally respectively), esp. if momentum doesn't apply. If Banzai Bills are desired they could be the same except take up a 2x2 square.Boos could be mobile (if not quite as much as lakitus) and can ignore all pieces in their path but cannot move if threatened by an enemy (and maybe even a friend). Probably cannot be captured by replacement as in originals.Idea for moving pipe and bill launcher is from the fangame SMBX where there are versions of those which can be used by the player; perhaps if you decide to later make a 'Great Mario Chess' with more pieces one could try to include things like Bowser, Water (and of course then cheep-cheeps, bloopers, maybe frog suit), buzzy beetles (koopas but can't be fire-flowered), and many more...This was meant to be a reply to the other thread with this title, see here for original thread. Meirav. Pieces are buried before they are captured, buried pieces may capture other buried pieces. (8x8x2, Cells: 128) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2015-07-08 UTCI'm not entirely clear on how the bottom-board mechanics work, specifically on two points:(a) Does moving onto a square where an opponent has your piece buried capture your own piece or the opponent's?, and in the former case what would be the advantage of making such a move in the first place?(b)When a piece on the bottom board moves, must it capture another buried piece or does it capture a piece on the top board and thereby resurface (or may it do either)?Overall, this seems like an interesting concept and I might try it if these points could be clarified. Thanks in advance :) Thoughts on large numbers of players in one chess game. Missing description[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2015-03-11 UTCThe turn-order thing looks kind of similar to what I have in my 3-Player Chess I, complete with rules for king threats (although as yet no provision for consecutive checks), although I have also added rules making sure that trades do not go on for too long; presumably this would have an effect on trading tactics. I have wondered about extrapolating to more players; aside from longer escape clauses to accommodate the larger no. of players, would anything else need adding? Euqorab. Anti-Baroque. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2015-01-22 UTCI am unconvinced by the independent and widow: The independent seems a bit strong, and certainly if one were to play a game with several more kinds of ultima-style piece it would easily dominate the game (although it could be nerfed by capturing only as enemy pieces on the board currently unable to capture it, making it probably a good idea to trade it off in the midgame...), while the widow appears to be nothing more than a weakened immobiliser, limiting movement but adding the option (though in this case only under certain circumstances) to self-destruct. The other pieces seem interesting though; I wonder how they would work with normal ultima (and of course ultima variant) pieces... Promote King Chess. King can promote into Cthulhu, and white pawns can promote into black pawns. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2014-11-26 UTCPresumably because if you did that they would be able to capture it? Obviously promoting into an opposing piece is of limited value, but I can imagine there may be a small set of situations where it could be useful... Hourglass Hex Chess. 2 overlapping triangles form a hex board of just over FIDE size. (9x9, Cells: 65) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2014-10-26 UTCI think your descriptions for the Vicerine and Duchess are the wrong way round... Prefixing convention[Subject Thread] [Add Response]Bn Em wrote on 2014-10-21 UTCI assume you mean replicating only the FO moves on the orthogonals for goldboaron and on the diagonals for silversow, rather than on the diagonals for goldboaron? Bn Em wrote on 2014-10-19 UTCI am aware that the prefixing convention is not merely about adding general moves, having used your goldsteward in what is thus far my only published variant. However, in the absence of any evidence to the contrary, the goldsowon's move seemed most logical to apply to the hypothetical 'goldwing'. I admit that its presence in MAB 11 is more logical than that in MAB 4. I see that you have added the goldsowon etc. to MAB 11, but am confused as to what the different possibilities are for silversowon etc.; as I am interpreting it, both options come out as a wazir+silverpickpocket, by extrapolating in the same manner as with silversow (which I'm pretty sure is at least the second interpretation (extending the long moves of the silversow)); if not, what exactly is the first interpretation? If this is taken as the case, I suppose it would also be possible to likewise extrapolate the raj pieces (e.g. silversahibon, brassmensaon, azurenobobon, etc.)? One other thought for the moment: what about pieces moving in 3 different types of distance or more, e.g. goldsowon+elephant? How these could work is, at the moment anyway, beyond me... Btw, sorry if I seem impertinent/rude/etc. I don't mean to come off that way, rather enquiring out of genuine curiosity. Answers to any/all of these questions and potentially the many more that I have now or in the future would be greatly appreciated.:) Man and Beast 04: Generalised Generals. Systematic naming of part-symmetric coprime radial pieces.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2014-10-09 UTC"Motorcyclists may be disappointed that the name Goldwing is not used!" Wouldn't a Goldwing simply be a wing which can also make one step in the remaining Goldgeneral directions? Likewise for e.g Silvermitre, Brasswing, Foresthorn, etc. 3-Player Chess I. Missing description (10x10, Cells: 75) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]Bn Em wrote on 2014-09-12 UTCWell, I have lived in Scotland for most of my life, but I have mexican family, from whom I have acquired this form of draughts. Admittedly, though, I have not played draughts in a *very* long time, so I cannot remember exactly whether this is actually how it was. I do remember that: (a) it is played on the diagonals of a 10x10 board, with each player's 1st 3 rows filled (b) the unpromoted piece moves as in this variant, though I cannot remember whether it must be forwards. It could make multiple captures as described; I do not recall any obligation to capture (c) the promoted piece, or 'queen' ('dama' in Spanish; the namesake of the game and isonymic with the chess queen) moves as the promoted draught in this variant. I think it must have had to stop on the square after its victim (otherwise it is quite overpowered), but I do not recall how multiple capture worked... What I have opted for in this variant seems a logical choice With regard to the artificiality of the board, I agree, having playtested two prototype versions of this. However, it works, and, once you get used to it, it's not that difficult to deal with. :) 11 comments displayedLater ⇩Reverse Order⇧ EarlierPermalink to the exact comments currently displayed.