Special Pawn Rule

You may wonder what happens when a pawn reaches the last row of the board. Does it just sit there unable to move? Does it disappear?

The answer is no! When you move a pawn to the last row, you remove the pawn from the board and replace it with another piece!! You can replace it with a Queen, or a Rook, or a Bishop or a Knight.

So three things happen on the turn where you move a pawn to the last row:

  1. You move the pawn to the last row.
  2. You remove the pawn from its square on the last row.
  3. You put your replacement piece on that same square in the last row.

The new piece can now move on the next turn!

Index | Next: Super Confusing Rules