In addition to its other capabilities, a pawn may, as a move, capture itself. The self-capturing pawn is removed from the game exactly as if another piece had captured it.
In algebraic notation, pawn self capture can be written as any other capture. If the pawn on c3 captures itself, write c3xc3.
Some of my experience with the rule has made me suspect the pawn sacrifice is seldom worthwhile -- perhaps the rule might come into play once every other game. Obviously, the pawn sacrifice introduces a new style of skewer attack, but it the only times in my games where it has been worthwhile to actually sacrifice the pawn is when the unveiled attack gives check or focuses more materiel onto a critical central square, and in doing so, forces one's opponent to retreat. Often, the threat of a pawn sacrifice attack is more valuable than actually carrying the sacrifice out.
Other experience indicates the rule dramatically changes the opening. 1.h2xh2 may be a good opening move, and even if not used on the first move, is worth considering towards the end of the opening if Black has not sacrificed his h-pawn. Sacrificing a-pawns may also be worth the rapid rook deployment.